Organic and local were two words I never bothered paying attention to, that is, before I started culinary school. Now those words are all that matter to me. Learning about how food is produced and processed was definitely an eye opener; the fact that even our milk is bleached startled me. So I couldn’t help but ask myself, what have I been eating all these years? I then decided to enjoy my Saturday by volunteering at the Brooklyn Grange Flagship Farm in Queens. I’m still new to the upcoming trend of rooftop farming and the fact that there popping up all over the world–Singapore, Amsterdam, Hong Kong, and even Tokyo. The farm was such a beautiful sight. You walk into this white office building, take the elevator to the rooftop and you’re just taken aback at the amount of produce the farmers have been able to create. The fresh air was filled with hints of cilantro, basil, tomatoes and kale and they make you forget for just a second the typical polluted New York City mist. My day consisted of pulling weeds from lettuce beds and spreading chocolate scraps donated to the farm on beds of kale. Intense labor it was, but with the aroma of gourmet chocolate in my presence as I gently spread the scraps around the soil, it then hit me how making a living by farming was something I would definitely enjoy doing. Volunteering at the farm had intensified my connection with food, as well as increased my appreciation to the labor that goes into harvesting it. I then ended my afternoon by purchasing organic honey, mixed greens, a bunch of basil, and some sweet peppers at the farm, all of which I munched on later that day.

Flagship Farm
37-18 Northern Blvd, ROOF
Long Island City, NY 11101

BGF_farm-15BGF_farm-2  BGF_farm-18BGF_farm-11
BGF_farm-27 BGF_farm-6 BGF_farm-24

3 thoughts on “Volunteering at The Brooklyn Grange Flagship Farm

  1. This is awesome. I didn’t even know that there’s a rooftop garden so close to where I live. I definitely would love to take a tour of the garden one day.

    Like

  2. This is awesome. I definitely want to take a tour of this rooftop garden one day. I didn’t know there was one so close to where I live.

    Like

Leave a Reply

